You are here

Review for Lessons 1-5

preview
This review lesson will test your knowledge of the characters covered in lessons 1-5.
This review lesson will test your knowledge of the characters covered in lessons 1-5.

Comments (30)

Hello, Minute 6:58: Shouldn't it be "cong2 yi2 dao4 san1" (instead of yi1 because of the tone rule for yi=1)?
israfil.akman 7 months 3 weeks ago
Hi, the tone changing rule for yi is that when the yi is not used as (1), you would pronounce it as 4th tone, unless it's followed by another 4th tone, in that case you change it to 2nd tone. However, the (yi) here is used as a literal number, 1 to 3, so it stays as yī, first tone. Hope that helped! :)
Jenny at Yoyo Chinese 7 months 3 weeks ago
In the sentence "you are in MY heart" is there any particular reason why they don't say "wǒ de" instead of just wǒ or is it just part of the saying?
Eric Lixey 9 months 3 weeks ago
my and heart are two nouns pretty closely associated, so in the case of closely associated relationships, the de can be omitted. It's not wrong to say wǒ de xīn
Jenny at Yoyo Chinese 9 months 3 weeks ago
I dreaded Chinese characters but finally curiosity got the better of me. Now I am hooked and it is addictive I cant get enough time in the day I love learning this course and it is the glue that keeps the Chinese learning course together It is so well thought out and presented thanks for your time spent preparing this course well done
dog 1 year 7 months ago
Glad that you are enjoying our character courses. Happy studies. :)
Yoyo Chinese 1 year 6 months ago
Hello how would I say six weeks ago? last six weeks?
Birgit 1 year 7 months ago
Six weeks ago is六个星期以前 (liù ge xīng qī yǐ qiǎn), and last six weeks is 之前的六个星期 (zhī qián de liù ge xīng qī).
Yoyo Chinese 1 year 7 months ago
thanks
Birgit 1 year 7 months ago
What's the differences between shangwu.and zaoshang? I guess both have the meaning 'early in the morning', but I want to ask you it's okey to subsititute one word to the other in any case. Thanks for your lectures, you're helping me a lot.
Kyeong Hwan Kim 1 year 9 months ago
早上 (zǎo shàng) is more for early morning, while 上午 (shàng wǔ) is more for later morning.
Yoyo Chinese 1 year 9 months ago
In this way, the characters make sense. Very useful.
Murca 1 year 11 months ago
你太牛了!You are very good! Thank you for the lessons, 谢谢 秧秧 :)
tranganh2410 2 years 2 months ago
秧秧,你的教训太好了!One tiny English error at the end of this video: It should say "three characters" not "three character". I finally feel I might be literate someday, and able to read what I write.
danieltrevi 2 years 2 months ago
That's great to hear! Keep up the good works. Sorry about the typo. P.s, you should use 课程 kè chéng for lesson, instead of 教训 jiào xùn. 教训 is more for lessons after you've done something wrong. ;)
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 2 months ago
You should consider the Mock Turtle's lesson plan, as described in "Alice in Wonderland": 'And how many hours a day did you do lessons?' said Alice, in a hurry to change the subject. 'Ten hours the first day,' said the Mock Turtle: 'nine the next, and so on.' 'What a curious plan!' exclaimed Alice. 'That's the reason they're called lessons,' the Gryphon remarked: 'because they lessen from day to day.'
danieltrevi 2 years 2 months ago
Yoyo you are the best. i have never wanted to learn characteres Il s fun. Please give us more intermediate conversational lessons
jack9989 2 years 3 months ago
Thanks for your support and feedback, Jack. :)
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 3 months ago
These reviews are very helpful! I look forward to the lessons as they are released. 谢谢!我在学汉字 :)
yangzhenhua 2 years 3 months ago
Wo zhende xihuan. Xiexie ;-) Hen rongyi.
andina 2 years 3 months ago
Just started your character course today, Happy Easter!! I like they way you mix pinyin he hanzi, very helpful.. I just started learning 1,000 characters in the order of their frequency used, I've saved the very best for last. :) I have my work cut out for me. I look forward to your many Chinese character courses to come. xiexie xiexie nin..
一生只有一次生命所以我在这里 2 years 3 months ago
We hope you had a great Easter weekend! Thank you so much for your support. We are releasing videos three times a week. Stay tuned. :)
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 3 months ago
tai hao le . today i start learning and finish 5 lesson in one day. now i can write and recognize 15 character. xie xie ni yoyo ni zuo feichang hao le
Vijay852 2 years 3 months ago
That's awesome! Great job! More lessons are coming up. Keep up the good works! :)
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 3 months ago
Great job!!! 太好了!!!
tangdun 2 years 3 months ago
Good job! This shows the retention rate for the lessons so far is very high.
dreadnought 2 years 3 months ago
Yes, very cool
KennyGeee 2 years 3 months ago
That is great!! JC
JC 2 years 3 months ago
你好秧秧!我也是一个中文老师,很喜欢您的视频,从中受益匪浅!希望您能继续放更多的课程上来!
dannykoala 2 years 3 months ago
谢谢您的支持xiè xie nǐ de zhī chí. Thank you for your support.
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 3 months ago
Instant Access to all
Free Yoyo Chinese Content