You are here

Lesson 27 Pinyin Review - Part 6

preview
In this last part of the six-part comprehensive pinyin review, wrap things up with some extra review of the pinyin sounds that may sound similar to you - as an English speaker - but sound very different to a Chinese speaker. Learn to master these so you can truly sound like a native speaker yourself!
Lesson Audio Review
In this last part of the six-part comprehensive pinyin review, wrap things up with some extra review of the pinyin sounds that may sound similar to you - as an English speaker - but sound very different to a Chinese speaker. Learn to master these so you can truly sound like a native speaker yourself!

Comments (23)

For me, the most difficult job is to distinguish shang from xiang. I don't hear a difference when listening, and I my own pronounciation is exactly the same for both syllables. Any tips and tricks?
carolien 4 months 2 weeks ago
It might be confusing but sh is suppose to sound like the "sh" in sheep, while x is more between s and sh and your tongue is flat. We also sent you a follow up email! :)
Jenny at Yoyo Chinese 4 months 2 weeks ago
Thanks, I'll practice.... :)
carolien 4 months 2 weeks ago
why "chī" is not followed by "ee" sound like "qī"?
iamareeba08 1 year 1 month ago
The i in chi is a filler while it's pronounced in qi. Check out our pinyin chart for a video explanation! :)
Jenny at Yoyo Chinese 1 year 1 month ago
Good vídeo. I really need to watch all of this videos a lot of times to get used to the pronunciation.
Kazuke Li 2 years 1 month ago
Thanks for the nice words, Kazuke. Keep up the good works. :)
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 1 month ago
I think this is one of my favorite lessons so far, these were the doubts I had. And while I night not be able to master them right away is good to know that they have different sounds for chinese people, thanks!
pcobos 2 years 5 months ago
Thanks, just one thing. I get confused between chi (eat) and che (vehicle).
latinteacher 2 years 8 months ago
Have you checked out our pinyin chart with audio/video demonstration? It's located on the homepage of our site. Hope you'll find it helpful. Feel free to let us know if you have any further confusion.
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 8 months ago
The pronounciation difference between chū and qù is only because of the sound u and ü? Or ch and q has difference in themselves as well? For example would be there any difference between cha an qa? I have the same question about the sounds j and zh, x and sh too. Thanks in advance!
clako 2 years 8 months ago
Yes, besides the difference between u and ü, ch and q are pronounced differently. ch sounds like "ch" in chirp, and q sounds like "chee" in cheese. There's no such pinyin as qa in Chinese. And j sounds like "jee" in jeep, and zh sounds like "ge" in judge. x sounds like "shee" in sheep, and sh sounds like "sh" in "shhhh". Hope that helps. You may also check out our pinyin cheat sheet from our download center. We are currently also working on more pinyin lessons. Hope it will make it easier. :)
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 8 months ago
Do the initials "q" and "ch" sound different? For example: qe1 and che1?
elvis.sikora 2 years 10 months ago
Yes, they sound a bit different. q sounds like "chee" in "cheese", and ch sounds like "ch" in "kitchen". There's no such pinyin qe1 in Chinese. Hope that helps.
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 10 months ago
Thanks, it does help :)
elvis.sikora 2 years 10 months ago
Zhuan and Juan Chuan and Quan Are both very similar! These are the most difficult in this video... in real fast conversation do you really tell the difference, or is it more you can tell based on the context of the conversation..?
dean.taylor.503 3 years 3 weeks ago
Once you're familiar with them, these three all sound quite different. Keep listening, and soon you'll be able to tell the difference between all of them very easily. Remember that the vowel sound is not the same in "zhuan" and "juan." The vowel sound is the same in "juan" and "quan" but the "q" is more like a "ch" sound in English.
Yoyo Chinese 3 years 3 weeks ago
This lesson was really effective. The layout of the blackboard on the left and the view of your face really allowed me to focus on watching your lip movement to understand how to say it correctly. Also, the comparison similar sounds by saying them one after another was just what I needed. I know this is the last pinyin lesson but I want to emphasize how great this layout was in case you want to use it again in the future.
Fazzio 3 years 3 months ago
Hi Yang Yang,Ive been studying Chinese for about 3 years, at college, on-line and with a private teacher in person. So I know a lot of Chinese words and sentences,but my study is so random, its all over the place and I got lost for a while,overwhelmed with my study and knew i needed to take a new direction to bring it all together to make sense. After watching your YouTube videos I joined your course and started again from the beginning,now I'm back on track and loving it. Thanks so much
Daynew 3 years 8 months ago
I had a similar situation exept im 12 years old so thanks for helping me realize im not the ony one on this website with 2 different tutors!
Clawpaw 3 years 8 months ago
Glad that you found our website helpful! Good lucks! :)
Yoyo Chinese Development 3 years 8 months ago
Thank you so much for your support Daynew. Good luck with your Chinese studies. Feel free to let us know if you have any question. :)
Yoyo Chinese Development 3 years 8 months ago
thank you yang yang for this excellent explanation, you have really helped me a lot, more than my Chinese teacher with these confusing initials. Very remarkable work. 再见
simancas 3 years 10 months ago
Instant Access to all
Free Yoyo Chinese Content