You are here

Lesson 26 Pinyin Review - Part 5

preview
In part five of your six-part comprehensive pinyin review, head back to that special 'u with an umlaut' character 'ü' and focus on how it's different from a normal 'u' sound. Yangyang provides some important examples here, so make sure to practice yourself!
Lesson Audio Review
In part five of your six-part comprehensive pinyin review, head back to that special 'u with an umlaut' character 'ü' and focus on how it's different from a normal 'u' sound. Yangyang provides some important examples here, so make sure to practice yourself!

Comments (16)

Had to share this story: So I've just moved Taiwan for a new job, after learning with Yoyo Chinese for 6 weeks (while living in the Middle East, with no prior Chinese study). On my second day, the security guard for my building asked, "ni3 hui4 shuo1 zhong1 wen2 ma?" I told him, "wo3 de zhong1 wen2 bu4 hao3, ke3 shi4 wo3 hui4 shuo1 yi4 dian3." He went wide-eyed and said, "OH MY GOD I UNDERSTAND YOUR PRONUNCIATION!" So clearly you're teaching it right! ^_^ Xie xie
rayassin 11 months 1 week ago
Thanks for sharing and love the enthusiasm! :) 加油 (jiā yóu) Keep going!
Jenny at Yoyo Chinese 11 months 1 week ago
I have a question regarding 'xiè xie'. Why do you write it like this: 谢谢? The characters look exactly the same, even though the two xie have different tones. Does that have any logic behind it or is just something random that you have to remember?
hyvrle 1 year 7 months ago
Although both xie have different tones, they have the same character. When you say it, the second one changes to neutral tone to soften your tone.
Yoyo Chinese 1 year 7 months ago
Question: I've heard the word for "springtime" pronounced with a different sort of "u" sound - it's like "quinian," with the umlaut over the u and a soft "i" sound between the u and the n, so that it sounds almost like "qu(i)nian." The use of the "u" hasn't been explained to me as you did, and I'm grateful to you for clarifying it.
Bumstead 2 years 1 day ago
Hmm, are you talking about springtime "chūn tiān", or autumn, "qiū tiān"?
Corey 2 years 22 hours ago
My bad. I was referring to "chun tian," which I can't seem to be able to give accents on my machine.
Bumstead 2 years 16 hours ago
You can use this web site to type pinyin with tone marks: http://www.mdbg.net/chindict/webime2_pinyin.php There are other methods as well, but this one is pretty easy to use.
Corey 2 years 12 hours ago
For the u with the double dots, is your tongue behind your lower or upper teeth? Thanks
Angel.R 2 years 2 months ago
It should be behind your lower teeth while rounding your lips.
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 2 months ago
I am studying 214 Chinese simplified radicals and finding there are some radicals have different pinyin as "丨" is shù or gǔn?; "丶" is diǎn or zhǔ?; "亅" is gōu or jué?; "宀" is gài or mián?; "尢" is yóu or wāng?; "疒" is bìng or nè?;"纟" is sī or mì?; "艮" is gèn or gěn?; "辶" is chuò or zouzhi?; Why are there two ways of saying the same word? Which one is the correct one?
loiho76 3 years 3 months ago edited
Which book are you using?
二百我一点儿 3 years 2 weeks ago
For example, among those you listed, "shù" is the name of the stroke and "gǔn" is the name of the radical. "Diǎn" is the name of the stroke and "zhǔ" is the name of the radical. "Gōu" is the name of the stroke, and "jué" is the name of the radical. For the others you list, if you want a suggestion on which one to use, maybe go with "mián" "wāng" "nè" "sī" "gèn" and "chuò" because those seem to be the more commonly used names.
Yoyo Chinese 3 years 3 months ago edited
Thanks for your clear explanation and suggestion for the use of the pinyin of the radicals listed above.
loiho76 3 years 3 months ago
That's great that you're learning to write characters! Don't get too distracted on the names of the radicals. It's really not too important. But to answer your question, some radicals have a more formal name as well as a more colloquial name. Some also have more than one name because they are both a radical and a stroke. Others have more than one name because they are both a radical and a character.
Yoyo Chinese 3 years 3 months ago
thanks
slang 4 years 2 months ago
Instant Access to all
Free Yoyo Chinese Content